- What You Actually Pay for the Exam
- How the Fee Is Set: Country, Tax, and Discounts
- Where You Test: Pearson VUE and Certiport
- Retake Rules and What a Failed Attempt Costs
- What You Will Not Pay: Renewal and Entry Barriers
- Budgeting Your Preparation Spend
- Matching Your Study Hours to the Exam Domains
- Weighing the Fee Against the Career Return
- Three Budget Scenarios Compared
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The U.S. list price for Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals (DP-900) is $99; your final price varies by country, tax, and discounts.
- Microsoft publishes no general member versus non-member pricing tier for this exam.
- A first failure allows a retake after 24 hours, but you pay again unless an eligible offer applies.
- The Fundamentals certification does not expire, so there are no renewal fees or continuing-education costs.
What You Actually Pay for the Exam
The mandatory cost of earning Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals is the exam fee itself. For candidates in the United States, the list price indexed on Microsoft's certification page is $99 USD. That is the headline number most candidates should plan around, and it is the figure this guide uses as its baseline.
Be careful with numbers you find elsewhere. Several third-party exam sites publish fees, timers, and logistics that conflict with one another and with Microsoft's own pages. This guide does not adopt any of those unsupported figures. When a price matters, confirm it on Microsoft's official certification page at checkout before you commit.
If you are still deciding whether this credential suits your goals, the article on what DP-900 certification is explains the credential before you spend anything on it.
How the Fee Is Set: Country, Tax, and Discounts
Microsoft prices exams by country or region. That means the amount you see depends on where you take the exam, and local taxes can be added on top of the base price. Two candidates studying the same material can pay different totals purely because of geography.
Factors That Change Your Final Price
- Country or region: The base fee is localized, so the U.S. $99 figure is not universal.
- Tax: Applicable taxes may be added at booking depending on your location.
- Eligible discounts: Certain offers, programs, or vouchers can reduce or cover the fee when you qualify.
- No member tiers: Microsoft does not publish a general member versus non-member pricing structure for this exam, so do not wait for a membership discount that may not exist.
Discounts are worth investigating before you pay full price. Microsoft's frequently asked questions page and your own employer, school, or training program are the places to check for eligible offers. Students and educators should read the next section, because a separate testing channel may apply to them.
Key Takeaway
Never pay until you have checked for an eligible offer. Employers, academic programs, and training events sometimes cover the fee, and an offer applied at booking is far easier than a refund request later.
Where You Test: Pearson VUE and Certiport
The exam is delivered through Pearson VUE. You can generally choose between a test center and an online proctored session in supported regions. Certiport, which is also part of the Pearson VUE family, is offered to students and educators as an alternative route, and your eligibility for that channel may influence how and where you book.
| Delivery Option | Who It Suits | Cost Considerations |
|---|---|---|
| Pearson VUE test center | Candidates who prefer a controlled environment and have a center nearby | Standard exam fee; possible travel time and transport costs |
| Pearson VUE online proctoring | Candidates in supported regions with a quiet room and a compliant computer | Standard exam fee; no travel, but you must meet ID, system, and room requirements |
| Certiport (students and educators) | Students and educators using an academic testing channel | Pricing and eligibility set through the academic program; confirm with your institution |
Online proctoring saves travel but adds responsibility. You need acceptable identification, a system that passes the technical check, and a room that meets the proctor's requirements. A failed system check can cost you time and stress even if it does not change the fee. If you need an accommodation, request it in advance rather than on exam day. The article on DP-900 exam dates and scheduling walks through booking windows in more detail.
Retake Rules and What a Failed Attempt Costs
The retake policy is where an unprepared candidate turns a $99 exam into a more expensive project. Microsoft's published rules for retaking an exam are specific:
- After your first failed attempt, you must wait 24 hours before retaking.
- For subsequent attempts, the wait is 14 days.
- You may take the same exam no more than five times in 12 months.
- You pay for each attempt unless an eligible offer covers it.
Assuming the U.S. list price, a single retake adds another $99 to your total, and each additional failure adds the fee again plus a two-week wait. The financial lesson is plain: the cheapest path is passing on the first attempt. That favors spending a little more time on preparation over rushing to book.
Since the pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the official sources reviewed, avoid planning around any claimed percentage. The page on what the data shows about the DP-900 pass rate explains what is and is not known, and how hard the DP-900 exam is helps you judge how much preparation you personally need.
What You Will Not Pay: Renewal and Entry Barriers
One of the better cost features of this credential is what is absent. Understanding these non-costs keeps your budget honest.
No Renewal Fee or Maintenance Requirement
Fundamentals certifications do not expire. There is no renewal assessment and no requirement to accumulate continuing education credits. Once you pass, the credential does not generate a recurring bill, which makes the effective lifetime cost equal to your exam fee plus any retakes and study materials.
No Mandatory Prerequisites to Buy
Microsoft does not state a required degree, work experience, training hours, references, or preceding certification for this exam. It recommends familiarity with data concepts and relevant coursework, but nothing you must purchase first. Certiport's general pathway language mentions 150 instructional hours, but that is not a verified entry rule for this exam, so you do not need to budget for it. For the full picture, read DP-900 requirements and eligibility.
Key Takeaway
The only required spend is the exam fee. Everything else, from courses to practice tests, is optional preparation, which means you control the rest of your total cost.
Budgeting Your Preparation Spend
Preparation is the variable part of your budget. The good news is that a credible path exists at little or no cost, and paid resources should fill specific gaps rather than replace a plan.
Free and Low-Cost Starting Points
- Microsoft's study guide: The official study guide for Exam DP-900 lists the skills measured and is the authoritative statement of scope. Start here before buying anything.
- Microsoft Learn training: Self-paced learning material aligned to the data fundamentals topics is available through Microsoft Learn.
- The instructor-led course: Microsoft offers a one-day course, DP-900T00, as preparation. It is optional and not an entry requirement.
An important caution applies on exam day: Microsoft Learn is not available during Fundamentals exams. You cannot rely on looking things up, so your preparation must build recall, not just familiarity with where answers live.
Where Paid Practice Fits
Practice questions are most valuable for learning the style of scenario-based items and for exposing weak domains. Treat any question bank as preparation, not a replica of the live exam. The exact question types, count, and scored versus unscored split are not fully disclosed. Microsoft gives a general 40 to 60 question range for exams, but that is not an exact DP-900 count, and Certiport lists a 43 to 48 figure for this exam with a version caveat. Plan for variability rather than a fixed number. You can try the free tools on the main practice test site before paying for anything, and the DP-900 study guide shows how to sequence them.
Matching Your Study Hours to the Exam Domains
Money spent on study time is best allocated by domain weight. Microsoft publishes percentage ranges for each skills area, and two of them carry the highest published range. The ranges below come directly from the skills measured. Note that these are ranges, not exact allocations, and subtopic bullets are illustrative, so related topics may also appear.
Domain 1: Describe core data concepts (25 to 30%)
This is one of the two heaviest areas, so it deserves early and solid attention.
- Structured, semi-structured, and unstructured data
- Common data workloads such as transactional and analytical processing
- Roles and responsibilities of data professionals
Domain 2: Identify considerations for relational data on Azure (20 to 25%)
Focus on how relational concepts map to Azure services and when each fits.
- Relational concepts such as tables, keys, and normalization
- Azure relational database offerings and when to choose each
- Basic SQL awareness
Domain 3: Describe considerations for working with non-relational data on Azure (15 to 20%)
The lightest published range, but still a meaningful share of the exam.
- Azure storage options for files, blobs, and tables
- Document, key-value, column-family, and graph models
- Azure Cosmos DB capabilities at a conceptual level
Domain 4: Describe an analytics workload on Azure (25 to 30%)
The other heaviest area, covering how data is ingested, processed, and visualized.
- Batch versus streaming processing
- Data warehousing and analytics services on Azure
- Data visualization and reporting concepts
A small wording note: Microsoft's certification page and Skills at a glance title the fourth area "Describe an analytics workload on Azure," while the study guide's detailed heading omits "on Azure." The scope is the same, and this site preserves the longer wording. For a deeper walkthrough, see DP-900 exam domains explained.
Core data concepts
- Cover Domain 1 first because it carries one of the highest ranges and underpins every other domain
Relational and non-relational data
- Study Domains 2 and 3 together so you can compare when each model fits
Analytics and review
- Cover Domain 4, then run practice questions across all four domains and revisit weak spots
This sequencing keeps your spend efficient: the earlier you identify a weak domain, the fewer paid practice resources and retakes you need. A compact review aid like the DP-900 cheat sheet helps in the final days before your appointment.
Weighing the Fee Against the Career Return
A $99 list price is modest compared with many professional credentials, but cost is only half of the decision. The credential is a foundational, entry-level signal. It shows familiarity with core data concepts and Azure data services, and it is commonly used by people moving into data, cloud, or analytics roles, as well as non-technical professionals who work alongside data teams.
This site does not publish invented salary or hiring statistics, so treat any precise earnings claim with caution. To evaluate the return on your own terms, review the worth-it analysis for the DP-900 certification, explore DP-900 jobs for the roles where it appears, and read the salary guide for how to interpret compensation data responsibly.
Three Budget Scenarios Compared
The table below illustrates how your total outlay changes with your approach. It uses only the U.S. list price of $99 and describes other costs qualitatively rather than inventing figures.
| Scenario | Exam Attempts | Preparation Approach | Cost Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lean first-attempt pass | 1 | Official study guide, Microsoft Learn, free practice | Exam fee only: $99 at U.S. list price |
| Supported preparation | 1 | Free resources plus a paid practice question bank or optional course | $99 plus the cost of the chosen study resources |
| Underprepared retake | 2 or more | Booked early, then retook after the waiting period | $99 per attempt plus waiting time and added stress |
The pattern is clear: extra preparation is usually cheaper than extra attempts. For a structured sequence you can follow, the DP-900 training resources and the study guide cover how to build that plan.
Frequently Asked Questions
The U.S. list price shown on Microsoft's certification page is $99 USD. The amount you pay depends on your country or region, applicable taxes, and any eligible discounts, so confirm the exact figure when you book.
Microsoft does not publish a general member versus non-member pricing tier. Eligible offers can reduce or cover the fee, and students and educators may have access through Certiport. Check Microsoft's frequently asked questions and your institution or employer for current offers.
You can retake after 24 hours following your first failure and after 14 days for later attempts, up to five attempts in 12 months. Each attempt is paid unless an eligible offer covers it.
No. The Fundamentals certification does not expire, and there is no renewal assessment or continuing-education requirement, so there are no recurring renewal costs.
No. Microsoft states no mandatory prerequisite certification, degree, or training hours. A one-day Microsoft course exists as optional preparation, and free official learning material is available, so the exam fee is your only required expense.
When you are ready to test your knowledge across all four domains before you spend on the real exam, start with the free tools on the DP-900 practice test site, and treat them as preparation that sharpens your recall for the proctored assessment.