DP-900 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

DP-900 Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • Microsoft does not publish a DP-900 pass rate in any official source reviewed; any specific percentage you see is unverified.
  • Passing means scoring 700 or greater on a 1-1,000 scaled score, which is not the same as 70% correct.
  • Core data concepts and analytics workloads each carry the highest published weighting: 25-30% apiece.
  • Retakes are allowed after 24 hours following a first failure, with a maximum of five attempts per 12 months.

What the Data Actually Shows (and Doesn't)

If you searched for a DP-900 pass rate, you probably wanted a single reassuring number: "X% of candidates pass on the first try." The honest answer is that no such figure exists in any official Microsoft source we reviewed for Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals. Microsoft does not release pass/fail statistics, first-attempt rates, or candidate volume for this exam.

That absence is itself the most important data point. It means every percentage circulating on forums, quiz-vendor sites, and "exam stats" pages is either a guess, a self-selected survey, or a number recycled from a different credential. This article explains what can be said with confidence, what can't, and how to turn the verifiable facts about the exam into a realistic read on your own odds.

Identity check: This article covers Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals (exam DP-900) only. It is a separate exam from AZ-900 (Azure Fundamentals), and the two should never be conflated when you look up objectives, weights, or difficulty. For the exact scope, see our breakdown of the DP-900 exam domains.

Why Microsoft Doesn't Publish a DP-900 Pass Rate

Microsoft's certification documentation describes how scoring works, how results are reported, and how retakes are governed. It does not describe cohort-level outcomes. There is no public dashboard, annual report, or FAQ entry stating how many candidates pass DP-900.

Several structural reasons make a trustworthy independent rate nearly impossible to calculate:

  • Multiple delivery channels. The exam is delivered through Pearson VUE, and Certiport is also offered to students and educators. No third party sees results across both channels.
  • Mixed candidate populations. Students taking the exam through a course, career-switchers, and working data professionals have very different baselines, so a blended rate would say little about you.
  • No self-reporting standard. Candidates who fail are far less likely to post about it, which skews any community-sourced figure upward.
  • A rotating question pool. Microsoft does not fix the question count or disclose the scored/unscored split, so exam forms are not directly comparable.

For a deeper look at difficulty without invented numbers, read How Hard Is the DP-900 Exam? and the companion piece on DP-900 pass rate.

How the 700 Scaled Score Works

The one number Microsoft does publish is the passing threshold: 700 or greater on a scale of 1 to 1,000. This is the figure that actually governs your result, and it is routinely misunderstood.

700 is not 70%

A scaled score is a statistical conversion of your raw performance, not a percentage of questions answered correctly. Microsoft's scoring documentation notes that some questions may be unscored, and different exam forms can vary in difficulty, so the conversion normalizes results. Hitting 700 does not mean you answered exactly 70% of items correctly, and you cannot reverse-engineer a raw "number correct" target. We cover this in detail in DP-900 Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Practical consequence: Because you can't know which items are scored, there is no safe subset of questions to skip. Treat every question as if it counts, and aim to be solid across all four domains rather than gambling on one strong area.

Why the Pass-Rate Figures Online Don't Hold Up

When we reviewed third-party sources that discuss DP-900, we found two recurring problems, and we have adopted none of their numbers.

Source typeProblem observedHow we treated it
Quiz-vendor blog comparing DP-900 and AZ-900Lists equal 25% content areas and logistics or pass-rate figures that don't match Microsoft's published rangesRejected; official ranges are 25-30%, 20-25%, 15-20%, 25-30%
Exam-prep app listingInternally inconsistent fees and timers, plus an unsupported pass rateRejected; fee and timing taken from Microsoft pages only
Forum and social postsAnecdotal, self-selected, often about a different "DP-900"Not usable as data

A telling red flag: the weighting claimed by some of these sites (four equal 25% blocks) contradicts the issuer's own ranges. If a source gets the published objective weights wrong, its pass-rate claim deserves no more trust. Note also that several unrelated credentials share the "DP-900" label, which is exactly how wrong statistics migrate onto the wrong exam page.

Where Candidates Lose Points: The Four Domains

Since outcome statistics aren't available, the most useful "data" is the exam's own structure. The current skills measured list four areas with official percentage ranges. These are ranges, not exact item counts, and Microsoft notes that subtopic bullets illustrate skills while related topics may also appear.

Domain 1: Describe core data concepts (25-30%)

The foundation, and tied for the largest share. Expect to distinguish data types and workloads.

  • Structured, semi-structured, and unstructured data, and when each applies
  • Transactional (OLTP) versus analytical workloads
  • Roles and responsibilities of data engineers, analysts, and database administrators
  • File formats and storage concepts at a conceptual level

Domain 2: Identify considerations for relational data on Azure (20-25%)

Conceptual understanding of relational design and the Azure services that host it.

  • Tables, keys, normalization, indexes, and views
  • Choosing among Azure SQL options and open-source database services
  • Basic SQL statement categories and what they do

Domain 3: Describe considerations for working with non-relational data on Azure (15-20%)

The smallest range, but a common source of confusion because the services overlap in name.

  • Azure Blob, file, and table storage use cases
  • Cosmos DB and its supported APIs
  • When a non-relational model fits better than a relational one

Domain 4: Describe an analytics workload on Azure (25-30%)

Tied for the largest share, and where many candidates feel least prepared.

  • Data ingestion, transformation, and processing concepts
  • Analytical data stores and modern warehousing approaches
  • Real-time streaming versus batch processing
  • Data visualization and reporting with Microsoft's BI tooling

One wording quirk worth knowing: the issuer's certification page and skills overview call area four "Describe an analytics workload on Azure," while the detailed study guide heading omits "on Azure." They refer to the same objective. For the full walkthrough, see the complete domain guide.

Together, Domains 1 and 4 can account for a majority of the exam by the upper ends of their ranges. A candidate who studies relational databases intensely but treats analytics as an afterthought is carrying real risk, regardless of any headline pass rate.

Exam Conditions That Shape Outcomes

The delivery conditions influence performance as much as content knowledge, and these are verifiable facts rather than estimates:

  • Time: 45 minutes for the assessment itself. The 65-minute figure Microsoft cites for Fundamentals exams is total seat time, which includes check-in and administrative steps.
  • Question count: Not fixed. Microsoft publishes a general range for exams but not an exact DP-900 total, and the scored/unscored split is not disclosed. Certiport lists a provider-specific length for this exam, but that listing carries a retrieval and versioning caveat, so don't plan around an exact count.
  • Format: A proctored, computer-based assessment that can be interactive. The specific mix of question types is not disclosed.
  • No reference material: Microsoft Learn is not available during Fundamentals exams, so you must recall service names, definitions, and use cases from memory.
  • Delivery options: Test center or Pearson VUE online proctoring in supported regions, which requires ID, a system check, and a compliant room. Request accommodations in advance.
  • Fee: The U.S. list price shown on Microsoft's certification page is USD $99. Country, taxes, and eligible discounts affect what you actually pay, and no general member versus non-member tier is published. See DP-900 Certification Cost for a full breakdown.
Pacing note: With 45 minutes and a variable item count, you can't reliably budget "X seconds per question." Instead, answer straightforward recall items quickly and bank time for scenario-style questions that require choosing between similar Azure services.

Retake Rules and What a First Failure Costs

Because no pass rate is published, the retake policy is your real safety net, and it is clearly documented. Under Microsoft's retake policy:

  • After a first failed attempt, you can retake after 24 hours.
  • For subsequent attempts, you must wait 14 days.
  • No more than five attempts are permitted in a 12-month period.
  • Each attempt requires payment unless you hold an eligible voucher or offer.

That 24-hour window is tempting but rarely wise. A failed attempt gives you a score report showing performance by skill area, which is far more valuable than rebooking immediately. Use it to target your weakest domain, then rebook once you've closed the gap. Also note that Fundamentals certifications do not expire and have no renewal assessment, so a pass is permanent. If you're unsure about eligibility, review DP-900 requirements; Microsoft states no mandatory prerequisite certification, degree, or work experience.

A Domain-Weighted Readiness Plan

Rather than relying on a pass-rate guess, build confidence from the weighting. This sequence front-loads the two largest domains and interleaves the services that are easiest to confuse. For a fuller approach, see the DP-900 study guide.

Week 1

Core data concepts (Domain 1)

  • Master structured vs. semi-structured vs. unstructured data
  • Contrast transactional and analytical workloads
  • Learn the roles of data engineer, analyst, and administrator
Week 2

Relational data on Azure (Domain 2)

  • Review keys, normalization, indexes, and views
  • Match Azure SQL and open-source database options to scenarios
Week 3

Non-relational data (Domain 3)

  • Separate Blob, file, table, and Cosmos DB use cases
  • Practice "which service fits this requirement?" questions
Week 4

Analytics workloads (Domain 4) and review

  • Cover ingestion, transformation, batch vs. streaming, and visualization
  • Take timed practice sets across all four domains and revisit weak areas

A DP-900 practice test is the best proxy for the real conditions: timed, closed-book, and scenario-driven. Treat practice scores as a readiness signal rather than a prediction, since question banks are preparation tools and do not replicate the undisclosed live format. Keep a one-page review sheet for the final days, and explore additional practice questions to confirm you can distinguish similar Azure services under time pressure.

Key Takeaway

Stop searching for a pass-rate percentage and start measuring yourself against the objectives. If you can consistently explain, without notes, why you'd pick one Azure data service over another across all four domains, you are better positioned than any statistic could tell you.

If you're still deciding whether the effort is justified, weigh it against career goals using Is the DP-900 Certification Worth It?.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the DP-900 pass rate?

Microsoft does not publish a pass rate for the Azure Data Fundamentals exam in any official source we reviewed. Percentages found on third-party sites are unsupported and often inconsistent with Microsoft's own published objectives, so they should not be relied on.

What score do I need to pass DP-900?

You need 700 or greater on a scaled range of 1 to 1,000. This is not equivalent to answering 70% of questions correctly, because the scaled score accounts for exam form differences and some questions may be unscored.

How many questions are on the DP-900 exam?

The count is variable, and Microsoft does not verify a fixed total or scored/unscored split for this exam. You have 45 minutes for the assessment. Plan for a range of item types rather than a specific number.

How many times can I retake DP-900 if I fail?

You can retake after 24 hours following a first failure, then must wait 14 days between later attempts. A maximum of five attempts is allowed in any 12-month period, and each attempt is paid unless covered by an eligible offer.

Does the DP-900 certification expire?

No. Microsoft Fundamentals certifications do not expire, and there is no renewal assessment or continuing-education requirement, so passing once gives you a permanent credential.

Ready to pass your DP-900 exam?

Put this into practice with free DP-900 questions across every exam domain.