DP-900 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does DP-900 Stand For?

TL;DR
  • DP-900 is the exam code for Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals, issued by Microsoft and delivered through Pearson VUE.
  • "DP" is Microsoft's data-platform exam prefix; the number is a catalog identifier, not a score or difficulty level.
  • DP-900 is not AZ-900. AZ-900 covers Azure fundamentals; DP-900 covers data concepts on Azure.
  • The exam has four domains; core data concepts and analytics workloads each carry the highest published range, 25-30%.

The Short Answer: What the Name Encodes

If you searched "what does DP-900 stand for," here is the direct answer: DP-900 is the exam code for Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals. The exam itself is titled "Microsoft Azure Data Fundamentals," and passing it earns you the certification of the same name from Microsoft.

Unlike some acronyms, "DP-900" does not spell out a phrase letter by letter. It is a catalog code. The "DP" part signals the data-platform family of Microsoft exams, and "900" places it in the fundamentals tier. Understanding that structure makes it far easier to read Microsoft's certification catalog, and it prevents the common mistake of confusing DP-900 with similarly numbered exams.

This article unpacks what the code means, how it differs from neighboring exams, what the certification actually tests, and how to plan your preparation around the exam's four published content areas. If you want a broader orientation first, our overview pages What Is DP-900? and DP-900 Meaning cover the same ground from other angles.

Decoding "DP" and "900"

The "DP" prefix

Microsoft's role-based and technology-based exam codes begin with a short letter prefix that hints at the subject area. "DP" is the prefix Microsoft uses for its data-platform exams, the ones that deal with relational databases, non-relational stores, analytics and related data engineering topics. When you see "DP" in a Microsoft exam code, expect data as the central theme.

The "900" number

The 900-series is Microsoft's convention for entry-level fundamentals exams. The number is an identifier within the catalog. It does not indicate a passing score, a number of questions, a time limit or a ranking of difficulty. Treating "900" as a difficulty number is a frequent beginner misconception; the exam's real challenge is discussed in How Hard Is the DP-900 Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Code, not acronym: Because DP-900 is a catalog identifier, you will not find an official expansion like "Data Platform Nine Hundred." The meaningful expansion is the certification title: Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals. For more phrasing variants of this question, see What Does DP-900 Mean? and What Is A DP-900?.

The Official Title: Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals

Each word in the official title tells you something about the credential:

  • Microsoft Certified: the naming pattern Microsoft uses for its certifications, issued by Microsoft Corporation.
  • Azure: the scope is Microsoft's cloud platform, so data concepts are taught through Azure services.
  • Data: the subject is data in its different shapes, relational, non-relational and analytical.
  • Fundamentals: the entry tier. Microsoft does not state a mandatory degree, training-hour requirement or preceding certification; it recommends familiarity with data concepts and related coursework.

A useful property of Fundamentals-level Microsoft certifications is that they do not expire. Microsoft states there is no renewal assessment and no continuing-education quota for this tier. Once earned, the credential stays on your record. For the full qualification picture, see DP-900 Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and for a certification-level overview see What Is DP-900 Certification?.

DP-900 vs. AZ-900: Keeping the Codes Straight

The single most common identity mix-up is between DP-900 and AZ-900. They sit side by side in Microsoft's fundamentals lineup, they are both entry-level, and both are Azure-themed. They are nonetheless different exams with different objectives.

AspectDP-900AZ-900
CertificationMicrosoft Certified: Azure Data FundamentalsMicrosoft Certified: Azure Fundamentals
Prefix meaningData platformAzure
Central subjectCore data concepts, relational and non-relational data, analytics workloadsGeneral cloud and Azure concepts
Best fitLearners moving toward data rolesLearners seeking broad cloud literacy

When you study or buy preparation material, confirm that every resource references the exam as "Microsoft Azure Data Fundamentals" and lists data-focused objectives. Material that talks about general cloud pillars rather than data workloads is for a different exam. Be equally careful with any resource that treats "DP-900" as the name of an unrelated credential from another organization; the only DP-900 relevant here is Microsoft's Azure Data Fundamentals exam.

What the Exam Actually Covers

The name "Data Fundamentals" becomes concrete once you look at the four skill areas Microsoft publishes in its study guide. The guide's skills-measured list is dated July 21, 2026, and the guide itself states that its subtopic bullets are illustrative, so related topics may also appear. Our full breakdown lives in DP-900 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas; here is the essential map.

Domain 1: Describe core data concepts (25-30%)

The vocabulary layer. You are expected to recognize how data is represented and the roles and responsibilities of people who work with it.

  • Structured, semi-structured and unstructured data
  • Common data file formats and how they are used
  • Transactional versus analytical workloads
  • Data roles such as database administrator, data engineer and data analyst

Domain 2: Identify considerations for relational data on Azure (20-25%)

Relational concepts and the Azure services that host them.

  • Tables, keys, relationships, normalization and indexes
  • SQL as the language of relational data
  • Azure relational offerings and when each deployment option fits
  • Choosing between managed and self-managed approaches

Domain 3: Describe considerations for working with non-relational data on Azure (15-20%)

The shapes of data that do not fit rows and columns.

  • Azure Storage options for blobs, files and tables
  • Document, key-value, column-family and graph models
  • Azure Cosmos DB and its role in non-relational workloads
  • Matching the data model to the scenario

Domain 4: Describe an analytics workload on Azure (25-30%)

How data is ingested, transformed, stored and visualized for analysis. Microsoft's certification page and Skills at a glance use this wording; the guide's detailed heading omits "on Azure."

  • Batch versus streaming data processing
  • Data warehousing and modern analytics architectures
  • Azure analytics services and where each fits
  • Data visualization and reporting with Power BI
Read the ranges as published: Microsoft gives percentage ranges, not exact counts. Core data and analytics share the highest ranges at 25-30% each. Do not convert these into a guaranteed number of questions per domain, because the guide does not specify a live-form allocation.

Format, Fee and Booking Mechanics

Knowing what the code stands for is only useful if you also know how the exam is delivered. These are the verified mechanics.

  • Delivery: Pearson VUE administers the proctored, computer-based assessment. Certiport is also offered to students and educators.
  • Time: 45 minutes for the assessment. Microsoft lists 65 minutes as Fundamentals seat time.
  • Question count: variable. No fixed total or scored/unscored split is verified for DP-900, so be wary of sources that quote an exact number. Certiport's July 1, 2026 listing indexes 43-48, but that is a provider-specific figure with a retrieval caveat.
  • Question types: the exam may be interactive, but Microsoft does not disclose the exact mix.
  • Reference materials: Microsoft Learn is not available during Fundamentals exams.
  • Passing score: 700 or greater on a 1-1,000 scaled score. This is not "70% correct," and some questions may be unscored. See DP-900 Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
  • Fee: the issuer page lists a U.S. list price of $99. Country, tax and eligible discounts affect what you pay, and Microsoft does not publish a general member/non-member tier. Details are in DP-900 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
  • Online proctoring: available in supported regions with ID, system and room requirements. Request accommodations in advance.
  • Retakes: 24 hours after a first failure, 14 days thereafter, with at most five attempts in 12 months. Payment applies unless an eligible offer covers it.

Certiport's delivery-update pages list English and localized content updates planned for later in 2026. These provider and language release dates do not replace the July 21, 2026 skills-effective date in Microsoft's guide, so check scheduling specifics in DP-900 Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling before you book.

Key Takeaway

Do not trust unsourced pass-rate or logistics figures. Microsoft does not publish a DP-900 pass rate in the official sources reviewed, and some third-party sites quote inconsistent fees, timers and rates. Our write-up DP-900 Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said.

Who Takes DP-900 and Where It Leads

Because "Data Fundamentals" is an entry-level credential, the audience is broad. Typical candidates include students, career changers, business analysts, support and operations staff, project managers working near data teams, and early-career IT professionals who want a structured foundation before specializing.

What employers read into it

The certification signals that you can speak the language of data work on Azure: you know the difference between transactional and analytical workloads, can distinguish relational from non-relational stores, and understand where analytics services fit. It is a vocabulary-and-concepts credential, not proof of hands-on engineering depth. Roles where it tends to add value include data-adjacent analyst positions, junior cloud and database support roles, and entry points into data engineering pathways. See DP-900 Jobs for the role landscape, and for money-related questions, DP-900 Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the DP-900 Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

For a quick snapshot of the credential itself, DP-900 Certification summarizes the essentials.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

Since the exam is concept-heavy and the domains build on one another, order matters more than volume. Start with vocabulary, then move to the storage models, then to analytics, which depends on understanding both. A simple four-week sequence mirrors that dependency:

Week 1

Core data concepts

  • Learn structured, semi-structured and unstructured data with a concrete example of each
  • Contrast transactional and analytical workloads
  • Memorize the responsibilities of common data roles
Week 2

Relational data on Azure

  • Review tables, keys, normalization and indexes
  • Read basic SQL statements so you can interpret them on the exam
  • Compare Azure relational deployment options by scenario
Week 3

Non-relational data on Azure

  • Map each Azure Storage option to a use case
  • Match document, key-value, column-family and graph models to scenarios
  • Understand where Azure Cosmos DB fits
Week 4

Analytics workloads, then review

  • Distinguish batch from streaming and warehouse from lake patterns
  • Connect ingestion, transformation, storage and visualization into one flow
  • Spend remaining days on mixed-domain practice and weak areas

The analytics domain gets the final slot because it asks you to combine ideas from the earlier three. Give it extra time in your review, since it shares the top published range with core data concepts. For a fuller plan, see the DP-900 Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, the DP-900 Training overview, and the DP-900 Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts for last-minute recall.

Practicing with the right expectations

Microsoft's one-day instructor-led course and optional learning exercises are preparation resources, not substitutes for the proctored exam, and course-completion certificates do not equal the certification. Likewise, any practice question bank, including our DP-900 practice tests, is preparation material. It does not replicate the undisclosed live question mix, a fixed exam length or official exam items. Use practice sessions to find weak domains, then return to Microsoft's study guide to close the gaps. You can start with a free set on the main practice site and revisit it after each domain.

Scope reminder: This article reflects a prior primary-source review of Microsoft's published objectives, with the study guide's skills measured as of July 21, 2026. Always confirm the current objectives on Microsoft Learn before you book, since the guide's subtopic bullets are illustrative and related topics may appear.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does DP-900 stand for?

DP-900 is the exam code for Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals. It is a catalog identifier rather than a letter-by-letter acronym: "DP" marks Microsoft's data-platform exam family, and "900" places the exam in the fundamentals series. The exam title is Microsoft Azure Data Fundamentals.

Is DP-900 the same as AZ-900?

No. AZ-900 leads to Microsoft Certified: Azure Fundamentals and covers general cloud and Azure concepts. DP-900 leads to Microsoft Certified: Azure Data Fundamentals and covers core data concepts, relational and non-relational data, and analytics workloads on Azure.

What score do I need to pass DP-900?

You need a scaled score of 700 or greater on a 1-1,000 scale. This is not the same as answering 70% of questions correctly, and some questions may be unscored, so the raw number of correct answers needed is not published.

How many questions are on the DP-900 exam, and how long do I get?

The number of questions is variable, and no fixed total has been verified for DP-900. The assessment time is 45 minutes, with 65 minutes of Fundamentals seat time. Microsoft does not disclose the exact question-type mix, and Microsoft Learn is unavailable during the exam.

Does the DP-900 certification expire?

No. Microsoft states that Fundamentals certifications do not expire and have no renewal assessment or continuing-education quota. If you fail an attempt, you can retake after 24 hours the first time and after 14 days subsequently, up to five attempts in 12 months.

Ready to pass your DP-900 exam?

Put this into practice with free DP-900 questions across every exam domain.